Learn about Dominica



To understand this island you must first know it’s secrets… 

Many visitors to Dominica tell us there is just not enough time to see all the beautiful natural sites and to do all the unique activities that Dominica offers. This page will help you explore the options available to suit your needs and tastes.


Commonwealth of Dominica

Dominica (pronounced “Dom-in-EE-ka”) is an island of volcanic origin located between the French islands of Guadeloupe and Martinique in the Eastern Caribbean.

The largest and most mountainous of the the Windward Islands, it has an area of 751 sq km (289.5 sq mi).  It is 29 miles long and 16 miles at its widest. The formal name Commonwealth of Dominica is often used to distinguish it from the Dominican Republic.

The island has several peaks of over 3,000 ft, the tallest of which are Morne Diablotin (4,747 ft) and Morne Trois Pitons (4,600 ft).

Official name: Commonwealth of Dominica

Capital: Roseau

Size: 751 sq km (289.5 sq miles)

Geographic coordinates: 15˚ 20’ N, 61˚ 22’ W

Elevation: 0 – 1,447 m or 0 – 4,747 ft

Terrain: Mountainous (volcanic origin)

Climate: Tropical marine, mild seasonal variation although high rainfall during wet season.

Coastline: 148 km or 92 miles

Water bodies: Atlantic Ocean, Caribbean Sea

Population: 73,449 (2014)

Language: English, French Patois (“Kwéyòl“)

Currency: Eastern Caribbean Dollar (XCD)

Major Urban areas: Roseau, Portsmouth

Government Type: Parliamentary democracy

National Symbol: Sisserou Parrot (see more national symbols)

Explore more about Dominica

Sort through the list below and explore this wonderful country

Recommended Reading

The Dominica Story:
A History of the Island

by Dr. Lennox Honychurch

Buy on Amazon


Dominica (Bradt Travel Guide)

by Paul Crask

Buy on Amazon

Three Nights Later, The Soukouyan on the Roof and Other Stories

by Roy Sanford

Buy on Amazon